About Us


The Institute is governed by an experienced and dynamic Council of Trustees (COT) that provides strategic leadership and policy direction to a Management Team that operates at the level of a secretariat. IDEG's Governing Council includes:

  • Prof. Akilagpa Sawyerr (Chairperson)
  • Mr. Ato Ampiah (Member)
  • Ms. Phyllis Christian (Member)
  • Dr. Emmanuel O. Akwetey (Member, Secretary)
  • Prof. Florence Dolphyne (Former Chairperson)


The IDEG Secretariat implements the programs of the Institute under the Leadership of an Executive Director who is supported by a team of professional and auxiliary staff. The IDEG Operational Team includes:


Constituted by Executive Director, Heads of Program Areas and Senior Administrative andFinance Staff


  • Executive Director                              - Dr. Emmanuel O. Akwetey
  • Executive Assistant                            - Ms. Baba Eshun-wilson
  • Operations Coordination Officer           - Dr. Esi Sey